Learn English through your favourite topic: football!

Community development through football

Premier Skills combines the reach of the British Council with the global appeal of the Premier League to use football to develop a brighter future for young people around the world.

Drawing upon the Premier League’s expertise, the community coaching programme tackles a variety of social issues,  such as health, disability, gender, inclusion and education.

In addition to coaching, a range of materials, including a dedicated website, have been created for teachers and learners of English that utilise football-based content and the British Council’s world-class expertise in English.

There is also a community project element based on the Premier League’s highly successful UK Kickz programme, linking UK community projects run by Premier League clubs to similar projects in other countries, building long-term partnerships that aim to change the lives of thousands of people.

Premier Skills has already delivered tremendous impact in 22 countries across Asia, Africa and the Americas. Since 2007 it has created training opportunities benefiting 2,300 grassroots coaches and referees who in turn have reached more than 400,000 young people.

Premier Skills in Sudan

In Sudan, working with local and international partners such as the Sudanese football Association and USAID, we've worked with more than 200 coaches, 30% of them female, to cascade the knowledge learnt from the Premier Skills course to their local area, with the ultimate aim of forming a 'Kids League'. The coaches not only disseminate the technical knowledge acquired from the course, but combine it with sessions on the use of football as a tool for community mobilisation and development, in addition to peace building and co-existence.

To date, the programme has delivered 800 technical sessions on football and 150,000 children in 12 States have been reached through the cascading training sessions.

'After participating in the Premier Skills phase two Community Sports Training in November 2012 in Khartoum, I returned to my home town, Elfashir in North Darfur. There I organised several sports activities and tournaments for children from different tribes, in Abu shook IDPs camp. This was implemented under the theme of “Equality in Education”. I reflected on the event and discovered that such small effort has the power to bring about social cohesion and foster peaceful coexistence in a community affected by a decade of conflict. The experience was very joyful and rewarding for the participants in spite of the hardship that they live in.' – Coach Mohamed Elfatih Hegazi, Sudan Kids League Elfashir

Further information

If you would like to find out more, please contact us.

See also

External links

مهارات الدوري الممتاز

تنمية المجتمع من خلال كرة القدم

يجمع برنامج "مهارات الدوري الممتاز" بين الانتشار الواسع للمجلس الثقافي البريطاني والسحر والألق العالميين لفريق الدوري الممتاز الإنجليزية، فيستخدم  كرة القدم كأداة لتحقيق مستقبل أكثر إشراقاً للشباب في مختلف أنحاء العالم.

وبالاستفادة من خبرات فريق الدوري الممتاز، فإن برنامج التدريب المجتمعي يعالج مجموعة من القضايا الاجتماعية، مثل الصحة، والإعاقة، والنوع الاجتماعي، والاندماج والتعليم.

بالإضافة إلى التدريب، تم إنشاء مجموعة من المواد التي تشمل موقعاً مختصاً للمعلمين والذين يتعلمون اللغة الإنجليزية، حيث تستخدم هذه المواد المحت المتعلق بكرة القدم وتستفيد من خبرة المجلس الثقافي البريطاني العالمية في اللغة الإنجليزية.

كما أن هناك مكوناً مجتمعياً مبنياً على النجاح الباهر لبرنامج الدوري الممتاز كيكز في المملكة المتحدة، إذ يخلق الروابط بين المشاريع المجتمعية التي تنفذها نوادي الدوري الممتاز والمشاريع المشابهة في الدول الأخرى، مما يساهم في خلق شراكات طويلة الأمد تسعى إلى تغيير حياة الآلاف من الناس.

وسبق لفريق الدوري الممتاز أن صنع فرقاً كبيراً في 22 دولة في آسيا وافريقيا والقارتين الأمريكيتين. ومنذ عام 2007، فقد خلق فرصاً تدريبية استفاد منها 2300 مدرباً وحكماً على مستوى القواعد، والذين بدورهم استطاعوا الوصول إلى 400 ألف شاباً.

مهارات الدوري الممتاز في السودان

من خلال عملنا في السودان مع الشركاء المحليين والعالميين مثل رابطة كرة القدم السودانية، والوكالة الأميركية للتنمية الدولية، عملنا مع أكثر من 200 مدرباً، وكانت 30 % من هؤلاء هن إناث، وذلك لنقل المعرفة المكتسبة من دورة مهارات الدوري الممتاز إلى مناطقهن المحلية، وذلك بهدف تشكيل "دوري الأطفال". ولا ينشر المدربون المعرفة الفنية المكتسبة من الدورة وحسب، وإنما يجمعون معها جلسات أخرى حول استخدام كرة القدم كأداة للحشد المجتمعي والتنمية، بالإضافة إلى بناء السلام والعيش المشترك.

وحتى اللحظة، فقد قدم البرنامج 800 جلسة فنية حول كرة القدم وتم الوصول إلى 150 ألف طفلاً في 12 ولاية من خلال جلسات التدريب التعاقبي.

"بعد المشاركة في المرحلة الثانية من مهارات الدوري الممتاز والخاصة بتدريب الرياضة المجتمعي في شهر تشرين الثاني 2012 في الخرطوم، عدت إلى بلدتي الفاشر الواقعة في شمال دارفور. وتمكنت من تنظيم عدة نشاطات رياضية وبطولات للأطفال من العشائر المختلفة في مخيم أبو شوك للنازحين تحت ثيمة "المساواة في التعليم". عندما تأملت في النشاط، اكتشفت أن هذا الجهد البسيط قادر على تحقيق التماسك الاجتماعي وتقوية العيش المشترك السلمي في مجتمع عاش عقد كامل من النزاع. لقد كانت تجربة ممتعة وغنية جداً للمشاركين على الرغم من الصعوبات التي يعيشون بها." المدرب محمد الفاتححجازي، الدوري السوداني للأطفال في الفاشر.

المزيد من المعلومات

إذا كنت تود المشاركة أو معرفة المزيد، يرجى الاتصال بنا وطلب الحديث مع مدير تقديم المشاريع.